Artist Spotlight

Vitskär Süden Announce New Album “The Faceless King”

We’ve been fans of the Los Angeles-based Vitskär Süden ever since Laird Barron turned us on to their music during a recording of the Ink Heist podcast. Not only is their brand of genre-bending heaviness a blast to listen to, it often draws inspiration from sort of Dark Fiction we love here at Ink Heist. The bands 2020 self-titled debut was inspired by Robert W. Chalmers and Laird Barron and their songs often evoke a similar imagery.

Vitskär Süden is gearing up to release their brand new album, The Faceless King on November 4, 2022 via Ripple Music. The Faceless King is a concept album that draws from dark fantasy and the album’s 7 tracks detail the rise, fall and return of a vile king and features awesome artwork courtesy of Samuel Araya. Pre-orders will be coming soon, but for now, crank up your sound system of choice and check out the epic lead single “The Broken Crown”.

Check out the cover, tracklist, and band bio down below!

1. The Way (Part I)
2. The Way (Part II)
3. Archdiocese Of Worms
4. Voices From Beyond The Wall
5. Shepherds On The Roadside
6. Bonedust And Dark
7. The Broken Crown

It’s clear that Los Angeles-based quartet Vitskär Süden operates from a shared musical consciousness. Having previously played together over the course of two decades, bassist/vocalist Martin Garner and drummer Christopher Martin unite effortlessly for a no-discussion-required, half-time-heavy rhythm section approach. Guitarists Julian Goldberger and TJ Webber bring their own distinctive influences, touching on both the ambient and melodic but unified in an appreciation of layered sonic texture. Described by Metal Hammer Magazine as “epic soundscapes as soothing as a blood-red Californian sunset”, their 2020 self-titled debut drew on elements of psych and prog rock, as well as “weird fiction” lit inspired by the likes of Robert W. Chambers and Laird Barron — a quality equally embodied in the album’s cover art by Samuel Araya (Elvenking). Tracks like “Dawn of the Monolith” and album opener “War Machine Crimson” nod directly to that melting pot of fantasy, science fiction and horror; evoking imagery of malevolent forces at play in our universe, while “Painted Faces” and “Ice & Haze” offer glimpses of light in the darkness.

Vitskär Süden is now ready to embrace its destiny, as the foursome recently signed to Californian powerhouse Ripple Music for the release of their anticipated sophomore album “The Faceless King”, due out on November 4th, 2022.

Vitskär Süden is:
Martin Garner – Bass/Vocals
Julian Goldberger – Guitar/Synths
Christopher Martin – Drums
TJ Webber – Guitar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.